Man Booker International Prize 2009 list of contenders announced

Mar 21, 2009 by

While we’re on a roll here with literary prize nominee announcements, we might as well carry it on!

This is not the Man Booker Prize for Fiction, the coveted annual giveaway from Man Group plc.  The International Prize, in contrast, is given once bi-yearly, and,

highlights one writer’s continued creativity, development and overall contribution to fiction on the world stage.

The contenders are:

  • Peter Carey (Australia)
  • Evan S. Connell (USA)
  • Mahasweta Devi (India)
  • E.L. Doctorow (USA)
  • James Kelman (UK)
  • Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru)
  • Arnošt Lustig (Czechoslovakia)
  • Alice Munro (Canada)
  • V.S. Naipaul (Trinidad/India)
  • Joyce Carol Oates (USA)
  • Antonio Tabucchi (Italy)
  • Ngugi Wa Thiong’O (Kenya)
  • Dubravka Ugresic (Croatia)
  • Ludmila Ulitskaya (Russia)

Fantastic spread of authors from around the world, I must say.

Check out the announcement in the Man Booker Prize site here.

read more

Bookbabble Episode 5: The FrankenRitchie

May 21, 2008 by

Bookbabble Episode 5: The FrankenRitchie
Recorded 14 May 2008
Babblers: Bjorn, Lars, Gem, Donny


The group takes a look at self-publishing, from Dickens’s day to the present day incarnation, and briefly examines what has changed in terms of perception and technology. Gem braves the waters to sample celebrity-written fiction, and lives to tell the tale. Also discussed: the trailblazer of a novel that is Frankenstein, what Mary Shelley had in common with Nicole Ritchie, the Best of the Booker shortlist, the 10 most challenged books in 2007 and a fanboy gush on Guy Gavriel Kay.


Bookbabble - book news and podcast for booklovers everywhere!
Bookbabble Episode 5: The FrankenRitchie
read more