Bookbabble Guest Glenda Larke Nominated for An Aurealis Award for The Last Stormlord

Dec 7, 2009 by

I’m very happy and excited that Glenda Larke, who’ve guested at Bookbabble a couple of times now, has been nominated for an Aurealis Award for her latest novel The Last Stormlord!

For those unfamiliar with the awards, here’s an intro taken from the website:

The Aurealis Awards were established in 1995 by Chimaera Publications, the publishers of Aurealis magazine, to recognise the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writers.

Check out the complete list of nominees joining her in the Best Fantasy Novel category:

  • Peter M. Ball, Horn, Twelfth Planet Press
  • Trudi Canavan, Magician’s Apprentice, Orbit
  • K.E. Mills, Witches Incorporated, HarperVoyager
  • K.J. Taylor, The Dark Griffin, HarperVoyager
  • Glenda Larke, The Last Stormlord, HarperVoyager

A complete list of nominees for this and other categories can be found here.

Crossing our fingers and toes, Glenda! 🙂

read more

British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) Award winners announced!

Apr 13, 2009 by

The British Science Fiction Association has announced the winners of their annual BSFA Awards.

They are:

(Thanks to Science Fiction Awards Watch)

read more

Man Booker International Prize 2009 list of contenders announced

Mar 21, 2009 by

While we’re on a roll here with literary prize nominee announcements, we might as well carry it on!

This is not the Man Booker Prize for Fiction, the coveted annual giveaway from Man Group plc.  The International Prize, in contrast, is given once bi-yearly, and,

highlights one writer’s continued creativity, development and overall contribution to fiction on the world stage.

The contenders are:

  • Peter Carey (Australia)
  • Evan S. Connell (USA)
  • Mahasweta Devi (India)
  • E.L. Doctorow (USA)
  • James Kelman (UK)
  • Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru)
  • Arnošt Lustig (Czechoslovakia)
  • Alice Munro (Canada)
  • V.S. Naipaul (Trinidad/India)
  • Joyce Carol Oates (USA)
  • Antonio Tabucchi (Italy)
  • Ngugi Wa Thiong’O (Kenya)
  • Dubravka Ugresic (Croatia)
  • Ludmila Ulitskaya (Russia)

Fantastic spread of authors from around the world, I must say.

Check out the announcement in the Man Booker Prize site here.

read more

Orange Prize For Fiction 2009 Longlist released

Mar 21, 2009 by

The Hugos were not the only Awards citing excellence in Fiction.  The Orange Prize for Fiction also recently released their longlist, and they are:

  • Debra Adelaide The Household Guide to Dying
  • Gaynor Arnold Girl in a Blue Dress
  • Lissa Evans Their Finest Hour and a Half
  • Bernardine Evaristo Blonde Roots
  • Ellen Feldman Scottsboro
  • Laura Fish Strange Music
  • V.V. Ganeshananthan Love Marriage
  • Allegra Goodman Intuition
  • Samantha Harvey The Wilderness
  • Samantha Hunt The Invention of Everything Else
  • Michelle de Kretser The Lost Dog
  • Deirdre Madden Molly Fox’s Birthday
  • Toni Morrison A Mercy
  • Gina Ochsner The Russian Dreambook of Colour and Flight
  • Marilynne Robinson Home
  • Preeta Samarasan Evening is the Whole Day
  • Kamila Shamsie Burnt Shadows
  • Curtis Sittenfeld American Wife
  • Miriam Toews The Flying Troutmans
  • Ann Weisgarber The Personal History of Rachel DuPree
read more